Posted in Assignments

Day 4: A [poem] in a single image: I’m losing by N.G. Santos

Man in church

I’m losing faith,
I’m losing control,
Things happen for a reason
Or no reason at all.
This time I’m different,
My heart’s become so cold,
Life’s not what I expected
Many things I wasn’t told.
I lived in a fairy tale,
The kind with happy endings.
The first time we met
I counted my blessings.
My heart was broken,
You had no remorse.
Is this time different?,
I believe so, of course.
I’m losing faith,
I’m losing myself,
Wish I could play
the hand I’ve been dealt.

I wrote this a few years back and the minute I saw the picture of the man in church, it immediately brought back this feeling of emptiness and confusion. You know, that feeling in the pit of your stomach you get when you think something bad will happen? Yeah, I got that. I tried moving away from that but truth be told, I felt I had to dig up this old poem and use it with the picture of the man in church.

Comments welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

